Calvin and Hobbes

August 30, 2007 at 4:11 pm (Uncategorized)

10 greatest lines from Calvin and Hobbes:

  • “Some days even my lucky rocketship underpants won’t help.”
  • “People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don’t realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world.”
  • “Girls are like slugs. They serve some purpose, but its hard to imagine what.”
  • “Careful. We don’t want to learn from this.”
  • It’s a magical world, Hobbes ol’ buddy. Let’s go exploring.”
  • “Its not denial. I’m just selective about the reality I accept.”
  • “I’ve got to start listening to those quiet, nagging, doubts.”
  • “I’m learning real skills that I can apply throughout the rest of my life…Procrastinating and rationalizing.”
  • “History is the fiction we invent to persuade ourselves that events are knowable and that life has order and direction.”
  • “Sometimes I think the surest sign intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe is that none of it has tried to contact us.”

Believe it or not, I wrote a significant portion of my college essay regarding Calvin and Hobbes – and still got in. I can’t help but thinking that whoever read it was a fan.

1 Comment

  1. Woozie said,

    Those lines do seem to have an underlying commentary to them. What was your college essay *supposed* to be about?

Leave a Reply

